Homevale High – the Sanlam Kay Motsepe district champions




African News Agency



HOMEVALE High School captured the Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup Under-19 Sol Plaatje district championship with a 13-12 penalty win over Emang Mmogo High in an exciting match that was played at AR Abass Stadium on Tuesday. The teams were tied 2-all at full-time, which forced the match to go directly to penalty kicks for a decision. Both teams executed their penalty kicks with precision, standing the score level at 7-7 and calling for another round of spot kicks. Homevale eventually emerged victorious when Emang Mmogo failed to convert on the sudden death penalty take. Homevale’s win wraps up the Sanlam-kay Motsepe schools football contest in the Sol Plaatje district. The Kimberley-based school will join the three other ultimate district winners from Magareng (Warrenton), Dikgatlong (Barkly West) and Phokwane (Jan Kempdorp-harstwater). Each district will contribute a winner to contest the regional championships, which are scheduled to take place in Warrenton on August 13. One more championship result for the competition was obtained from the Dikgatlong district competition. Reakantswe High from Windsorton mowed down the opposition to emerge as the Dikgatlong district champion team. Reakanstwe had first dealt with Barkly West High, beating their neighbours 3-2 in the opening match. Reakantswe then collected soft points in their follow-up match against Delportshoop High who failed to honour their fixture. The Windsorton side then lost their third and fourth games in the contest – going down 3-1 against Boresetse High and then 2-0 against Dikgatlong High. They made up for group stage log points when they were favoured yet again with soft points against Vaalharts High who were a no-show. In the Magareng district, only two school teams will contest for the district championship on August 8, namely Warrenvale High and Mogomotsi High. Results for the competition from the Phokwane district are due on August 8 when teams in that area contest their championship.